My Happy Place / Outside of the box. My box. / People I love

Jay Crisostomo IV’s ‘Pieta’

I follow BJ Crisostomo’s blog. Here http://boojingaga.wordpress.com/ . He writes very convincingly. I don’t read him at night though. The mental images stick and I get scared of sleeping. There is something about the way he describes circumstances that make me want to keep my eyes open. The mental images might come alive anytime. He gives you THAT feeling.

BJ posted Pieta, a full-length play, last November. When I found out it is going to be mounted by Shaharazade Theater Company this year, I was set to go. I did. I am happy I met him in person. The guy behind the stories I could only read in daylight.

Photo by Omolida Eloise

Photo by Omolida Eloise

During PIETA rehearsals. Photo by Omolida Eloise

During PIETA rehearsals. Photo by Omolida Eloise

Read PIETA here http://boojingaga.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/pieta/ . I am excited at what else and what more BJ could give to our theater-loving hearts and minds in the future. He is one playwright to watch out for.

Watch Pieta by Shaharazade Theatre Company. It is about family and religion. Rage, lust, jealousy and other deceiving forms that ‘love’ takes. About ‘fanaticism’ screwing the way one should raise her children, or kill her children. About the very strong religious pull tugging with the very strong desire to keep a family together.

DSC07176DSC07221DSC07228

Performance Photos by Marla Espiritu

Catch the last three shows of Pieta on February 13 – 15, 7:30 p.m., at Room 5, ISO, Ateneo de Manila University. Ticket prices are at Php 150. For tickets, reservations, booking, and sponsorship, contact Chris Aronson at 09178253067.

ClickHandler.ashx

Catch the last three shows of Pieta on February 13 – 15, 7:30 p.m., at Room 5, ISO, Ateneo de Manila University. Ticket prices are at Php 150. For tickets, reservations, booking, and sponsorship, contact Chris Aronson at 09178253067.

 

One thought on “Jay Crisostomo IV’s ‘Pieta’

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 03/09/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Throw the first cornbread

